Texturing techniques with Photoshop and Mudbox

Last Thursday, Tony gave us some advice for texturing models. His advice was to put more detail onto the texture within the editior, so that patterns aren’t just ripped from the internet. He also recommended adding more individual detail, and making it so that the texture itself can tell a story, and by adding burn marks or scratches, or just little details to the texture, you can make the object tell a story through it’s texture map.column_spike_texture

I then played around with a texture that Tony had made, and I changed it to tell it’s own story. I added a wood texture to some parts of the model, and then played around with the patch tool to change the pattern and make it look different. I also added some simple scratches, but they weren’t very obvious, and don’t really show up so well in the final model. I then made a metal texture for the spikes, but it was pretty unimpressive because I ran out of time before I could add any scratches.

I then exported the texture back and added it to the model in Maya. Then, from Maya, I exported the model into Mudbox, where I was able to add some paint directly onto the model itself. I hadn’t used Mudbox before, so everything there was new. I was able to paint straight onto the model itself, which made it easier to add shadows and other external scratches and bumps.

Leave a Reply

