Character design: Heads

I did some sketches of people with different perspectives as practice for character design. My choices of people include David Tennant, Audrey Hepburn, Billy Porter, Nathan Sharp, Utada Hikaru, and Brendon Urie.

I do like how most of these turned out, my favourites being Billy Porter (middle left), and Brendon Urie (bottom right). However, I really don’t like how Nathan Sharp (middle right) turned out, because I think he looks pretty silly and desperately needs re-drawing. I also think I need to give Brendon Urie some shoulders because he looks like a floating head and if you look at it for too long it looks really weird. I think next time, to improve, I need to completely redraw Nathan Sharp, and desperately need to give Brendon Urie some shoulders for my own piece of mind. I think I would also like to maybe add lighter shading to some areas on David Tennant’s face, and that I could maybe add more people to my selection, because I had many more people in mind to add.

Leave a Reply

