Break the cycle: Making my first walk cycle

For the last week, I have been trying to create a walk cycle. I hadn’t made much progress until today, so today feels like a good day to blog about it. I used the Jack rig to make this walk cycle, and spent today blocking and making the passing poses for this walk cycle.

Most of my time this week was spent on researching techniques and planning what I want to do for my animations. I planned a lot of the technical things for this animation, including the tempo for the walk, which I decided to keep realistic at walking on 12’s (even though this means annoyingly splining every frame), and I decided to make a happy upbeat walk, because it’s more fun to animate something that is full of life.

For my animation blocking, I made each 3 frames that were the frames where the model’s legs were most outstretched, because these are the most definitive poses in a walk cycle.

 

Then, I started to block out the passing poses in the animation. On frames 7, and 19, I made the model start to bounce up a little, and on frames 4, and 16, I made the model squish down a bit for authenticity and add a bit of vitality to it.

So far, I am confident about my animation and how it looks. I don’t think there is anything I don’t like about it currently, but I know that a lot still needs to be fixed with the graph editor, so that might be my next step, and I also might add in some more frames just to smooth out the arcs of the movements.

One thought on “Break the cycle: Making my first walk cycle

Leave a Reply

